Interview: Heather Ross of Femme Fatall

Twenty Two’s interview series continues with a peek into Femme Fatall, a fashion and lifestyle blog specifically tailored to tall ladies. A one-time Work It, Berk subject, Heather Ross discusses the blog’s origins, issues that tall ladies face, and which topics she’d like to cover in the future. Don’t worry; there’s no height requirement to enter this post.

Twenty Two: Let’s start with the basics. Tell us a bit about yourself.

Heather: Well, I graduated last year from Cal with a degree in American Studies and I spent a semester abroad in Madrid during my junior year. I love to travel and take a million and one photographs. I’m pursuing magazine journalism and I decided to start a fashion blog to marry my interests in fashion, photography, and reporting. Oh, and I’m a big fan of musical theater and performance!

Twenty Two: What’s Femme Fatall about? Why did you start the blog?

Heather: It’s a fashion and lifestyle blog for tall women (generally 5’8″ and up). I have 22 years of experience being frustrated shopping for large sizes, especially in shoes, and with issues like dating shorter men and wearing heels. I wanted to share my knowledge and create an online community for tall ladies.

Twenty Two: Who’s your ideal reader? Who do you think would get the most out of it?

Heather: Probably a woman in her twenties or thirties looking for shopping inspiration and to communicate with other women about what it’s like to be tall. I hope my readers find fun events to go to, places to shop, and likeminded women to chat with.

Twenty Two: What are some of the issues that you tackle on your blog that tall ladies have to deal with that others might not?

Heather: I’ve written (but not yet posted) entries about what it’s like to travel to foreign countries (like living in munchkin land while I was in Spain), about the social stigma attached to dating someone of a different height, and about body image issues that arise when you’re one of the “big girls” growing up.

Twenty Two: You cover a lot of topics on the blog, including street style, fashion advice, and even DIY sewing projects. Can you tell us more about this?

Heather: I love to sew and craft, and it’s really important for tall girls to be able to make and modify their clothing so that it fits well. Sewing and crafting are a wonderful way to take part in what you wear — to make it an expression of your own creativity. I’m also addicted to street style blogs like The Sartorialist! I wanted to show what real tall women are wearing and give my readers ideas for their next outfit.

Twenty Two: Who or what inspires you?

Heather: Street style fashion inspires me most — runway looks are beautiful, but rarely realistic or wearable. I love to see what real people put on, especially at crazy fashion events like the Edwardian Ball! I went last month and it was incredible.

Twenty Two: Where do you see the blog going in the future? Is there anything you’d like to do with the blog that you haven’t already?

Heather: I would love to have a base of regular readers and to get some shout-outs from other bloggers and fashion sites. In an ideal world, I’d love to be sent to an event like fashion week to cover it for the blog or another publication. I started the blog as a labor of love, but I’d like it to become something more — like what you’ve done with Work It, Berk. I haven’t figured out how to monetize it yet either, but that will come later. I’d love to get my readers together for an in-person meet-and-greet to get to know them and help them to meet other tall, fashionable, fab ladies!

Twenty Two: Thanks, you’re sweet. Have you thought about covering topics not related to fashion?

Heather: I already cover some unrelated topics, like local events, tall women’s issues, and what I call “Odd N’ Ends” (basically tall trivia). I’d like to cover more DIY projects and perhaps branch out into the realms of design and more traditional reporting.

Twenty Two: Last question: What are some of your favorite resources for tall ladies?

Heather: My latest love is Long Tall Sally, a UK-based clothing site for tallies. I participate in the Reddit community /r/tall, which can be hilarious, insightful, and a little bitchy, all at the same time.

A special thanks to Heather for giving us the opportunity to learn more about her blog. You can keep up with Femme Fatall by taking a peek at the blog and Facebook.

Click on the images below to see more from Femme Fatall.

Recommended Reading

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

2 comments
  1. Thanks so much Brittany! This is wonderful and I’m glad we got the chance to chat.

Leave a Reply

