Yay or Nay: Guess Who Shades

Usually when I’m browsing through street style blogs, I don’t have much of a reaction to the outfits presented, or at least nothing more than something superficial like, “That’s pretty,” “Oh, polka dots!”, or “Orange. Really?!”

I had a very, very different reaction when I came across this photo of a lady shot in Seoul for Drop Tokyo. This was basically my thought process at the time:

0-2 seconds*: A Chanel bag… red nail polish.
3-5 seconds: Hooved boots. Okay, I’ve seen those before. I guess that’s a thing… Eek.
6-9 seconds: What’s over her eyes? Is someone behind her? Is that another pair of hands, a pair of plastic hands? Oh my God, they’re sunglasses!
10-13 seconds: Ew, it’s like some creepy doll is holding onto her head for dear life. Close the tab! Close the tab!
A minute later: …I wonder how she can actually see out of those things.
*These time durations are obviously estimated. You can put down the stop watch.

So, I’ve got a few things to say about these shades. One, they’re creepy. I have no clue why someone would want to wear fake hands made of plastic over their eyes, especially ones with painted fingernails. (I feel like this particular detail is important in calculating where the shades lie on the heebie-jeebie scale.)

Two, they bring back memories of classmates in elementary school coming up behind you, putting their grubby hands over your eyes, and declaring “Guess whoooo?!” I don’t know about you, but I’ve always hated when someone did that to me. Plus, most of the time, it was not someone you wanted touching your face. At all.

Maybe this is some cultural thing I just don’t quite understand? Seems doubtful. I think most people would agree that wearing something so lifelike is just weird and weird in a bad way.

Maybe she’s a big fan of those Kanye shades that were ~all the rage~ when “Stronger” came out? I don’t think so.

Maybe I should stop trying to analyze the reasoning behind this accessory choice and let it be? Probably.

Kanye did it better.

You know what I think about these sunglasses (if you can call them that). What are your thoughts? Are they more or less creepy than the braided hair necklace? Would you give them a yay or a nay?

Recommended Reading

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

