Interview: Jasmine Ash of Oh Darling

This week we chatted with Jasmine Ash of Oh Darling, a Los Angeles-based rock n’ roll quartet with roots in Portland, Oregon. Along with Jasmine as its singer-keyboardist, Oh Darling is made up of guitarist Daven Hall, bassist J.Marie Hall, and drummer Jake Endicott. In the latest installment of our interview series, Jasmine discusses her work both as a solo artist and as a part of the band, her favorite vegan restaurants, and her personal style.

Twenty Two: Let’s start with the basics. Can you tell us a bit about yourself?

Jasmine: I’m Jasmine. I’m a singer/songwriter from the Pacific Northwest who loves music, fashion, reading, yoga, vegan food, bunnies (well, animals in general, really), and hiking in pretty places. Also, I love sandwiches. And cake of any kind.

Twenty Two: Have you always been interested in music and performing?

Jasmine: Music, yes. Performing, no. It wasn’t until I was in my last year of college that I became interested in making my own music and performing for people.

Twenty Two: In addition to being a solo artist, you’re also the vocalist and keyboardist for the band Oh Darling. Do you have a different mindset when you’re making music with a band as opposed to working solo?

Jasmine: Well, yes and no. I really try to write great melodies and lyrics for whatever I’m doing at all times. The band and the solo stuff are definitely different, music-wise: the band is a little more edgy and has got a lot of rock influences. Really fun to play live. My solo stuff is singer-songwriter-y, but with a little more dance and Motown influences. Also really fun to play live. Though I try to keep them really different, my voice always sounds the same, so there’s that.

Twenty Two: How would you describe your songwriting style?

Jasmine: It can be honest, fun, pretty happy, but sometimes heartbreaking. I guess it depends on my mood and environment.

Twenty Two: Where do you find inspiration?

Jasmine: As I continue to write more and more, I try to find my inspiration from different places. From people I work with, books I read, places I go, words and other stuff that just show up in my head. Believe me, there is a lot of bananas stuff going on up here.

Twenty Two: How has growing up in Portland and living in Los Angeles influenced your work?

Jasmine: I am totally a Northwest girl, to start. I love the rain and cloudy mornings. Not that I’m depressed or anything, I think because I grew up here, that grey weather doesn’t affect me like it does some people. It’s just part of my day. And it can kind of be romantic, I think. When I moved to Los Angeles I don’t really think I knew what to do with myself because of all the sun! I spend a lot of time in both places so I have a healthy dose of both weathers. Also I had never really co-written with anyone until I moved to Los Angeles, something that has very much improved my writing.

Twenty Two: Who are some of your favorite musicians at the moment?

Jasmine: Robyn, M83, Other Lives (their album is tremendous!), Zola Jesus, and Beach House.

Twenty Two: I see that you have a Tumblr dedicated to sharing your outfits. How would you describe your personal style?

Jasmine: I adore pairing vintage items with modern pieces… and I love finding those one-of-a-kind pieces that I know no one else will have, so I do a ton of thrift store/ vintage/ flea market/ Etsy shopping. I also love pattern clashing. (It’s a guilty pleasure.)

Twenty Two: You’ve described yourself as a “vegan animal lover.” What are some of your favorite vegan restaurants in Los Angeles?

Jasmine: Sage! (It’s magnificent.) Flore, Bulan, Café Gratitude, Elf Café, and I do enjoy a little Green Leaves delivery from time to time.

Twenty Two: When you’re not working, how do you spend your time?

Jasmine: I do a lot of yoga, love to go on hikes and runs outside, love to read and watch movies. You know, cool (nerdy) stuff.

Twenty Two: What can we expect to see from you in the future?

Jasmine: A lot! (I hope.) I just put a new album out called, “Beneath the Noise” in February and we’ve started playing some shows around the release. I also just finished a music video for the first single “Starlight” which will be premiering in the next few weeks which we are really excited about! (Think animated turtles and flamingos.) My bandmates (former members of Phantom Planet) and I are excited to keep playing shows, writing songs and getting the music out there to the world!

A special thanks to Jasmine for giving us the opportunity to learn more about her and Oh Darling. You can keep up with her by checking out her website, Facebook, Twitter, SoundCloud, YouTube, Tumblr, and MySpace, while you can keep up with Oh Darling by visiting their website, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, and MySpace.

Click on the images below to see more from Jasmine and Oh Darling.

Recommended Reading

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

