Interview: Adolfo J Lara, Creative Mind

This week we chatted with Adolfo J Lara, an artist, director, and photographer based in Los Angeles. In the latest installment of our interview series, Adolfo discusses his affinity towards street art, his various sources of inspiration, and some advice for aspiring street artists.

Twenty Two: Let’s start with the basics. Can you tell us a bit about yourself?

Adolfo: My name is Adolfo. I’m 23, male, 5’11” (probably 6′ soon — I’m drinking a lot of milk), Mexican, filmmaker, artist, photographer, non-heartthrob, Los Angeles.

Twenty Two: What inspired you to get involved with street art as opposed to more traditional genres?

Adolfo: I like street art/graffiti because it allows me to put my work right in people’s faces, instead of waiting for them to visit my website or whatever. I can do something really cool in my sketchbook and no one will see it, but I can take that same thing and put it on a busy intersection and hundreds of people will see it.

Twenty Two: How do you differentiate your work from that of other street artists?

Adolfo: I really like humor, and being literal. Most of the time, I just write whatever I’m thinking in my head on a wall.

Twenty Two: Which pieces are you most proud of?

Adolfo: Any pieces that made someone’s day, made someone laugh, or at least made them smile.

Twenty Two: Where do you find your inspiration?

Adolfo: Film, music, old photographs, old magazines, urban legends, paranormal stuff, and comic books. I really like comic books, especially the old romance ones. Some people [who inspire me] include René Magritte, Erwin Wurm, Keith Haring, Spike Jonze, Harmony Korine, Michel Gondry, and Mark Romanek.

Twenty Two: Can you describe your typical day?

Adolfo: I don’t have typical days since I do so many different things, but they usually involve some kind of art making or movie making. I’m always trying to be productive. I get distracted very easily so it’s harder than you think, but it always usually ends at Chipotle.

Twenty Two: What’s the process you go through when you’re developing a new piece?

Adolfo: I like to listen to music, and the pieces are usually based on whatever I’m feeling that day. If I’m happy it will be a happy one, and if I’m sad it will probably be a girl crying or something. I think I just called myself a girl.

Twenty Two: In addition to being a street artist, you’re also a director and photographer. How does your work in each arena differ and overlap?

Adolfo: It doesn’t really overlap. I’ve been trying to figure out how they can work together but they really can’t. My art style differs from my filmmaking a lot. It’s weird. In film I have a style, but my art stuff is all over the place. It’s a big, beautiful mess. I’m like a kid.

Twenty Two: How has living in Los Angeles influenced your work?

Adolfo: Oh my god, there’s inspiration everywhere you look. The crazy people, the art, the size, the weather, the opportunities…

Twenty Two: When you’re not working, how do you spend your time?

Adolfo: Telling lies, and pulling pranks. Filming everything.

Twenty Two: What can we expect to see from you in the future?

Adolfo: I’m working on my first feature film, and a slew of short films. I’ll probably be dating Vanessa Hudgens.

Twenty Two: Do you have any advice for aspiring street artists?

Adolfo: Don’t blame me when you get arrested.

A special thanks to Adolfo for giving us the opportunity to learn more about his work. You can keep up with him by checking out his Tumblr ,Twitter, and Vimeo.

Click on the images below to see more from Adolfo.

Recommended Reading

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

