Ask The Panel: All-Time Favorite Musicians

For last week’s edition of Ask the Panel, our panelists shared their must-read book recommendations. Some suggested great American novels along the lines of The Great Gatsby, while others opted for classics like Lolita. Others chose books that spark the reader’s creativity or even influence their personal finances.

This week, we want to know which musicians our panelists can simply not get enough of. Without further ado, we’ll continue the series with the following question:

Who are your all-time favorite musicians?

Jessica Althoff
Founder of Future:Standard, an online ethical clothing boutique

All-time favorites? Ooh, that is tough. I don’t think I have any favorites, more like a long rotating list of loves. I am currently very obsessed with The Head and the Heart, but I don’t know them well enough to call them all-time favorites. Currently on repeat: Lucinda Williams, The Band, The Beatles, Girls, Ryan Bingham, and The Civil Wars. (Wow, it is a long list.) I tend to get obsessed with a band for a month or two and then move on. A few stick around forever. I also love a good cover.

Doreen Bloch
CEO and founder of Poshly, an innovative digital media company working to better connect beauty brands to stylish consumers

Since doing theater from a young age, I’ve always found any of the great lyricists and composers like Stephen Sondheim, Andrew Lloyd Webber, Tim Rice, and others to be geniuses for the incredible works they’ve created. I adore Queen – I could listen to their songs all day! I also love Billy Joel. His voice is incredible and his lyrics are amazing. He captures the essence of New York City. And, for the more contemporary tunes, I love Maroon 5. Lady Gaga is such a talent and I love her music of course. Anything fun to dance to is on my list.

Phyliss Ha Siler (read our interview with Phyliss)
Founder of Rue 7, a couture event and photography company

Ella Fitzgerald, Joshua Bell, and Dolly Parton.

Michael Reckstin
Music writer for Twenty Two

The Fugees/Lauryn Hill (I don’t care what anyone says).

Jill Aiko Yee (read our interview with Jill)
Women’s wear designer

Some of them: Joshua Bell the violinist (I see him every year at the Hollywood Bowl), Michael Jackson, Joni Mitchell, and Bon Iver.

Anisa Young
Blogger for Young and Seamless

I love music. I am that girl who always has to have something playing no matter what I’m doing. My ultimate favorite has to be Mr. A-Z. I have loved the smooth sound and quirky lyrics of Jason Mraz ever since I was a middle schooler. I’m also a huge fan of The Kooks, a bit sassy and seriously fun to sing along to… hey Luke, if you see this, call me… maybe?

Recommended Reading

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

